D-II sectional wrestling: Wauseon finishes second at BGSU

By DAN COOLEY @crescentsports cnsports@crescent-news.com Published:

BOWLING GREEN -- Wauseon put together another strong performance in Division II sectional wrestling action on Saturday, placing second in the North Sectional at Bowling Green State University.

Toledo Central Catholic won the title with 272 points, Wauseon finished with 2071/2 points to top third-place Oak Harbor which finished with 167 points.

Napoleon also had a good showing, placing seventh as a team. That was a big improvement over last year, when the Wildcats finished in 12th place.

Wauseon also placed second last year, but showed a great deal of improvement by advancing eight wrestlers on to districts, which will be held Friday and Saturday back at BG's Stroh Center. A year ago, Wauseon only advanced five.

"It's quite a bit better than last year, but still not as many as we would like," said Wauseon coach Mike Ritter. "One of those we didn't get out was Tony Banister (195), who lost a tough 5-4 decision to Central Catholic's Tony Gregory in the consolation semifinals. We feel like he's one who should be going. But we're really proud of our two champions and those who did qualify."

Derek Schuette was another who narrowly missed qualifying, losing 5-1 in the consolation semifinals to Celina's Andy Garwood. Schuette went on to place sixth.

Taking first place for the Indians were Cameron Slattman (126) and Wade Hodges (132). Slattman won by fall over Rossford's Jacob Burlage. Hodges, who edged Central Catholic's Nate Hagan in State Duals competition 4-0, won an even closer one this time over Hagan, 2-1.

"Cameron in particular has really come on as of late," Ritter said. "I'm glad things are working out like they are for him. It's great to see him wrestling so well in his final year as a senior."

A pair of Indians, Tre Campbell (160) and Aaron Schuette (170), lost close championship matches and placed second. Maumee's Anthony Arroyo topped Campbell, 5-3. Schuette lost to Tiffin Columbian's unbeaten wrestler Seth Williams (33-0) in overtime, 4-2.

Wauseon nearly had a fifth wrestler in the finals. In the championship semifinals, Central Catholic's Rosendo Beltran picked up a takedown as time ran out to earn a 5-3 win. Campbell went on to place fourth and earn a district berth.

Also advancing to districts for Wauseon are Andrew Bailey (third at 106), Jackson Sluder (fourth at 138), Alec Vonier (third at 182) and Devon Jones (third at 285). Bailey pinned Tiffin Columbian's Lalo Ludwick in the third-place match and Vonier won by fall over Galion's J.T. Harris.

"Andrew had a real nice tournament and Devon Jones was a nice surprise," Ritter said. "Alec did a good job coming back to finish third, winning three consolation matches in order to advance. Then in the third-place match, he beat Harris from Galion, the kid he lost to in the quarterfinals (by major decision, 15-4). He wrestled well when it mattered the most."

Napoleon advanced three grapplers to the districts and came away with one champion. Seth Beard (113) was impressive in the finals, winning by fall over Upper Sandusky's Thurston Dyer.

Also advancing for Napoleon are Jacob Pedraza (third at 120) and Seth Gerken (fourth at 285). In a pair of third-place matches between Napoleon and Wauseon, Pedraza pinned Campbell while Jones pinned Gerken.

Two other Napoleon wrestlers narrowly missed on their bids to advance. Justin Miller (138) and Ian Blackwood both placed fifth. Miller lost to Sluder by fall in the consolation semifinals. Blackwood lost a close 7-4 decision in the consolation semifinals to Vonier.

At Bowling Green

North Sectional

Team Scores

Toledo Central Catholic 272; Wauseon 2071/2 ;Oak Harbor 167; Galion 1311/2; Sandusky 1271/2; Upper Sandusky 1121/2; Napoleon 1051/2; Tiffin Columbian 100; Maumee 601/2; Celina 55; Rossford 541/2; Elida 50; Ontario 43; Port Clinton 28; Toledo Rogers 7

Area First-Place Matches

113 - Seth Beard (N) pinned Thurston Dyer (US), 1:51; 126 - Cameron Slattman (W) pined Jacob Burlage (R), 2:43; 132 - Wade Hodges (W) dec. Nate Hagan (TCC), 2-1; 160 - Anthony Arroyo (M) dec. Tre Campbell (W), 5-3; 170 - Seth Williams (TC) dec. Aaron Schuette (W), 4-2 (OT).

Area Third-Place Matches

106 - Andrew Bailey (W) pinned Lalo Ludwick (TC), 1:59; 120 - Jake Pedraza (N) pinned Gage Campbell (W), 2:27; 138 -Gene Porter (S) pinned Jackson Sluder (W), :38;

182 - Alec Vonier (W) pinned J.T. Harris (G), 3:33; 285 - Devon Jones (W) pinned Seth Gerken (N), 1:27.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.